WOLFEBORO ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE April 10, 2012 MINUTES

<u>Members Present:</u> Charles Wibel, Co-Chairperson, Denise Roy-Palmer, Co-Chairperson, Linda Murray, Selectmen's Representative, Paul O'Brien, Mary DeVries, Frank Giebutowski, Bob Ness, Members.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Tony Triolo, Les McLeod, Members.

Staff Present: Dave Owen, Town Manager, Lee Ann Keathley, Secretary.

Co-Chairperson Paul O'Brien opened the meeting at 8:00 AM.

Consideration of Minutes March 13, 2012

It was moved by Frank Giebutowski and seconded by Linda Murray to approve the March 13, 2012 Economic Development Committee minutes as submitted. Charles Wibel, Paul O'Brien, Frank Giebutowski, Bob Ness voted in favor. Linda Murray, Mary DeVries, Denise Roy-Palmer abstained. The motion passed.

Discussion Items

> Chairman & Vice-Chairman/Co-Chairpersons Appointments

It was moved by Linda Murray and seconded by Bob Ness to appoint Charles Wibel and Denise Roy-Palmer as Co-Chairpersons of the Wolfeboro Economic Development Committee. Linda Murray, Mary DeVries, Paul O'Brien, Frank Giebutowski, Bob Ness voted in favor. Charles Wibel, Denise Roy-Palmer abstained. The motion passed.

Business Focus Group Findings Presentation Denise Roy-Palmer stated 30 people attended the presentation.

Dave Owen questioned whether the Committee intends to present such to the BOS.

Mary DeVries stated the Chamber of Commerce would request an appointment before the BOS.

Frank Giebutowski stated a recommendation was noted that the EDC solicit input from the businesses more frequently.

The Committee requested a thank you letter be sent to Diane Levin.

> Member Appointments

Denise Roy-Palmer reported that Les McLeod has been appointed as a member to a two year term, Mike Cooper has resigned and she has been appointed to a three year term. She asked whether the alternate position was approved by the BOS.

Dave Owen stated the Alternate position was not discussed.

The Committee thanked Paul O'Brien for serving as Co-chairperson and requested a thank you letter/letter of appreciation be hand delivered to Mike Cooper.

> Town of Wolfeboro's Web Site

The Committee discussed the following; existing links, Community Profile, presentation of information, role of website maintenance, economic revitalization zone

Bob Ness stated there is 1100 page views/day and people from China, US Military, Poland and US.

Dave Owen stated each department is responsible for placing information on the website and that each department designates staff to do such. He stated the Town offers ongoing training. He stated the Town does not have an IT person on staff.

Linda Murray stated she would prefer having a subcommittee or the IT Committee review the data as opposed to creating a new staff position or adding the responsibilities to an existing staff position.

The Committee agreed to the following;

- Review web metrics and construct web page accordingly / conduct more web analytics
- Place Community Profile as a PDF rather than a link to the State's website
- It is not the role of the Committee to maintain the website
- Consider mobile phone application
- Pursue economic revitalization zone; schedule a meeting with Rob Houseman (Co-Chairs, Linda Murray, Dave Owen present)
- Place the number of undeveloped lots per zone on the web page
- Develop criteria of what is to be measured (Paul O'Brien to do such)

Selectmen / Town Manager Report

None.

Other Business

Town Hall Clock Restoration

Dave Owen stated the Town is applying for a \$10,000 grant (Moose Plate Grant) for the restoration of the Town Hall clock. He stated the total cost of the project is \$32,000; noting a combination of Town funds, private donations (Friends of Town Hall) and grant funds would used for the project. He requested a letter of support from the EDC; noting the application submittal deadline is 4/28/12.

Linda Murray stated the intent of the Friends of Town Hall is to raise the funds for the project rather than using Town funds.

It was moved by Charles Wibel and seconded by Linda Murray to support the Town Hall Clock Restoration project and submit a letter of support for the Moose Plate Grant application. All members voted in favor. The motion passed.

It was moved by Paul O'Brien and seconded by Frank Giebutowski to adjourn the April 10, 2012 EDC meeting. All members voted in favor.

There being no further business before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 9:15 AM.

Respectfully Submitted, *Lee Ann Keathley* Lee Ann Keathley